Our skin is the outer covering of our body. Our skin is the largest organ of the integumentary system. The skin has multiple layers of ectodermal tissue. Skin guards the underlying muscles, bones, ligaments and internal organs.
Skin plays a very important role in protecting the body against pathogens and excessive water loss. Its other functions are insulation, temperature regulation, sensation, synthesis of vitamin D, and the protection of vitamin B folates. 
Although necrotizing fasciitis may be caused by an infection with one or more than one bacterium, in most cases the term flesh-eating bacteria has been applied to describe infections caused by the bacterium known as Streptococcus pyogenes. The term flesh-eating is used because the bacterial infection produces toxins that destroy tissues such as muscles, skin, and fat.
Who can get Flesh Eating Disease
Healthy people but Higher when you have:
Chronic medical condition i.e. diabetes, kidney or cancer
Weak immune system
Recent viral infections that cause rash i.e. chicken pox

Basic Hygiene Lesson

  • Wash your hands frequently and properly: Hand-washing is one of the best ways to remove germs, avoid getting sick, and prevent the spread of germs to others. 

  • Take care of your wounds: You have to keep in mind that once our skin is broken, it is open to all kinds of bacteria that may cause infection. So if you have wounds you have to clean or disinfect them properly.

  • Do not go near a friend or anybody who is suffering from a sore-throat-related illness.


  • Cough in your arm when you cough and turn away from others when you sneeze.


Throw your used tissue in the garbage can to avoid others from touching it and do not touch other people's used tissue paper with your bare hands. If you do make sure you wash your hands properly or use hand sanitizer. 

                                     Eat healthy, get plenty of rest and exercise.


Post a Comment

  1. Hospitals in Kolkataprovide different type of surgery like curative surgery, palliative surgery, reconstructive surgery, preventive surgery, cytoreductive surgery, diagnostic surgery and staging surgery.